CCI Antiracism Leadership Awards

The Community Change Antiracism Leadership Awards Celebration is an event held annually in November. The event grows out of an expansion of the Drylongso Awards Celebration which CCI has hosted since 1989. The first CCI Leadership Awards Celebration was held November 10, 2009.

Leadership Awards honor the work of individuals within three categories, each appropriately recognized with its own award:

Drylongso Award

"Ordinary people doing extraordinary work against racism"

Established in 1989, the Drylongso Awards honor ordinary people doing extraordinary anti-racism work in Greater Boston. The Drylongso Awards are inspired by the book Drylongso: A Self-Portrait of Black America. In that book, anthropologist John Langston Gwaltney details the daily struggles of Drylongso, or ordinary African Americans fighting racism.

2012 Recipients

  • Nadine Cohen: Legal Services and Civil Rights Attorney, Longtime Activist for Racial Justice
  • Haymarket People's Fund
  • Thomas Kieffer: Executive Director, South Jamaica Plain Health Center
  • Aaron Tanaka: Trainer, Co-op Developer, Founding Executive Director of the Boston Workers Alliance
  • Michelle Waters-Ekanem: Director of Civil Rights & Diversity, MA Dept. of Environmental Protection

2011 Recipients

  • Arnie King, Through Barbed Wire
  • The Most Rev. Filipe Teixeira, OFSJC, Ordinary Bishop of the Diocese of Saint Francis of Assisi, CCA- Liberation Theologian
  • Sandy Thompson, Winchester Multicultural Network
  • Magalis Troncosso Lama, Founder of the Dominican Development Center & Director of Organizing for Boston Tenant Coalition
  • John Willshire Carrera, Lead Attorney, Immigration Unit of Boston Legal Services and Co-Managing Attorney and Clinical Instructor for the Harvard Immigration and Refugee Clinic